Teresa welcomes “important milestone in the fight for step free access at Erith Station” FREE ACCESS AT ERITH STATION”

Erith and Thamesmead MP Teresa Pearce has welcomed the announcement by Southeastern and Network Rail that Erith is one of the 22 stations submitted to the Government for potential funding under the Access for All scheme.

The Access for All scheme delivers funding for stations without step-free access, enabling the installation of infrastructure improvements such as new lifts and footbridges, to make them fully accessible. The improvements benefit everyone, from people with health conditions and impairments, to elderly people and parents with small children, they also provide a convenience for those carrying around heavy luggage and shopping.

In welcoming the announcement Teresa said:

“This is a huge move forward, for years Erith was not even considered for step free access because it’s used less than other stations. However its inaccessibility is probably one of the reasons why. To get accepted onto the list of 22 from a longlist of 107 is very good news indeed. This is the result of the hard work of residents, community groups, councillors and MPs both past and present who never gave up”.

The full list of stations nominated by Southeastern and Network Rail (in alphabetical order):

* Albany Park, south east London
* Aylesham, Kent
* Battle, East Sussex
* Chislehurst, south east London
* Clock House, south east London
* Deal, Kent
* Elmstead Woods, south east London
* Erith, south east London
* Falconwood, south east London
* Headcorn, Kent
* Herne Bay, Kent
* Hildenborough, Kent
* High Brooms, Kent
* Kent House, south east London
* Kidbrooke, south east London
* Lenham, Kent
* Maidstone West, Kent
* Marden, Kent
* Penge East, south east London
* Sidcup, south east London
* Swanscombe, Kent
* West Dulwich, south east London

This entry was posted in Articles, News, Press Notices, Quotes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.